Master of New Media

S&I Assessment 3: Colour Grade

Today, watching movies has become a common way of entertainment, the appreciation level of audience is being cultivated and improved constantly.  The colours of the film play a key role to highlight the style of a film.  A good film, its colours should be remembered as well as the plot by the audience.  The most impressive for me is the film Hugo (2011) directed by Martin Scorsese.  In the film, cold colours and warm colours can be used concurrently in most of the clips, and this performance is not strange.  For me, this is an example I want to learn from it (I’m so excited cause I really like the colour of the film).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the colour grade project, I used Lenny’s clips as an example to change its colour. Initially, I wanted to change Lenny’s style like Hugo, and after trying, I realised that I couldn’t adjust cold colours and warm colours in the same clip.  I think the film Hugo’s colour is mainly affected by the light and the human face and main object are the warm light and the other area are cold light.  Unfortunately,  I don’t know how to select a part of the area to change the colour in Premiere (I’m disappointed).  So I had to change the way to adjust the three different styles which are cold colours, warm colours and effects colours.

1st and 2nd Colour Grade

This is two different grades that I edited together cause I’m affected by the film Traffic (2000) directed by Steven Soderbergh.  The difference between cold colours and warm colours of the film shows the different periods and characters’ inner activities.

From the above two pictures, we can see a completely different style, but this is two clips in the same film.  So I think that the different colour grades can show different times, places and situations, even different inner world.  Then I do a try by cold colours and warm colours respectively.

I find cold colours can reflect the inner world of the characters, and it gives the audience a negative feeling that it represents a serious or bad thing.  In contrast, the feeling of warm colours is that this thing happened at different times.  It’s a trick to change the time of the story (It looks like happened in the afternoon).

3rd Colour Grade

At this stage, I refer to the film The Matrix Revolutions (2003) directed by The Wachowskis.  Green served as the main colour of the film and I think this is a special way I can try.

 

I tink it is an interesting process but I find that it cannot turn into a satisfying effect.  Because the actress’s dress is red, the clips look very strange when the colours into a green (I think it’s ridiculous).  Actually, I want to tune it into a science fiction, but now it becomes a horror film.

As a summary, it’s difficult to keep the colours uniform during the process of adjustment, because I have to think about the style of the story, the character’s clothes and the colour of the environment.  In addition, I am very easy to visual fatigue, so when I adjust the colour I need a picture as a reference, in this way it will be easier to do.  Moreover, we need to be patient to do this, and we have to be very sensible to the colour.

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

